skip to main content
  • 045 980200
  • Head Office: Áras Chill Dara Devoy Park Naas Co Kildare W91 X77F

Elections and Voting

Register of Electors Contacts:

Introduction to Local Elections

Local elections are generally held every five years in the month of May or June. The actual polling day, which is the same in all areas, is fixed by order of the Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage. The Minister also fixes the polling period which must last at least twelve hours between 7.00 a.m. and 10.30 p.m.

Typically, the Ministerial Order is signed in February/March of the election year and following this details of the nomination process and the relevant dates will be published online and in local newspapers in the official Notice of Election.

The Notice of Election is published not later than the 28th day before the polling day. This gives the public notice of the following matters:

  • The times for receiving nominations.
  • The amount of the deposit.
  • The times and place at which nomination papers may be obtained.
  • The times and place at which the returning officer will attend to receive nominations.
  • The day and the period fixed for the holding of the poll if the election is contested.

Local elections are managed by Kildare County Council and candidates will contest for 40 seats across 8 Local Electoral Areas. See the online electoral boundaries map.

During 2022 the Returning Officer for the County (the County Registrar) reviewed polling place capacities across the County, in light of increased populations, with an aim of keeping the number of electors per polling room below 650, as is normal practice. New rooms have been added at a range of polling places and given capacity issues, two new Polling places, being primary schools in Naas and Newbridge will serve as new polling places for the 2024 Local Elections.

The next local elections will take place in June 2024