skip to main content
  • 045 980200
  • Head Office: Áras Chill Dara Devoy Park Naas Co Kildare W91 X77F

Elections and Voting

Register of Electors Contacts:

Notice of Poll


Candidate Nomination period has now closed, please see the Notice of Poll below for a list of candidates running for the Local Elections 2024.

Fógra Na Vótaíochta

Notice Of Poll


Notice of Election

An election of members for each of the local electoral areas of the above-mentioned local authority is about to be held.  The local electoral areas are Athy, Celbridge, Clane, Kildare, Leixlip, Maynooth, Naas and Newbridge.

Nomination papers may be obtained from the address below during the usual office hours.

A person may nominate himself/herself as a candidate or may, with his/her consent, be nominated by a proposer who is registered as a local government elector in the local electoral area of the local authority for which he/she proposes to nominate the candidate.

A nomination paper from a candidate of a registered political party must have a certificate of political affiliation attached which must be produced to me with his/her completed nomination paper. 

If no certificate is attached, the candidate must, before the latest time for receiving nominations, either :- 

  • secure 15 assents to the nomination by way of statutory declarations by local government electors registered in the relevant local electoral area (forms available from me or the registration authority), or
  • make a deposit of €100 (deposit may also be made on the candidate’s behalf).

The latest time for receiving nominations is 12.00 p.m. on the 18th day of May, 2024.

Completed nomination papers may be delivered to me in person by the candidate or his/her proposer at any time when I am at my office, from 10.00 a.m. on the 11th day of May, 2024, until 12.00 p.m. on the last day for receiving nominations. 

I am required by law to attend to receive nominations between 10.00 a.m. and 12.00 p.m. and between 2.00 p.m. and 5.00 p.m. on the 17th day of May, 2024 and between 10.00 a.m. and 12.00 p.m. on the 18th day of May,2024.

If the election is contested, a poll will be taken on the 07th day of June, 2024 between the hours of 7.00 a.m. and 10.00 p.m.

Eoghan Ryan

Returning Officer

Address:       Kildare County Council, Áras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Naas, Co. Kildare, W91 X77F

Date:              10 April, 2024